COSMO Digitale Baustelle

Skip to content

Connect & Collaborate with your Supply Chain – Becker Rudder System



The Client: Becker Marine Systems – Products & Service



Integrating Digital into the Industrial Value Chain
HMI 2018 Showcase – Example Asset– BECKER RUDDER SYSTEM


>> Integrating Digital into the Industrial Value Chain <<

Showcase scenario – with actors in the process: 

0) The customer, operator of a vessel, wants to maintain and modernize his existing rudder system within the scope of a conversion project in a TÜV revision of the vessel including general repair. The analysis of the life cycle data from sensors within the scope of the predictive maintenance contract with its rudder supplier has shown that an existing rudder component has to be replaced by a new one.

1) For this purpose, the rudder construction company (BMS) is commissioned to deliver the new modern Becker Rudder in a conversion project. For the work on this project the rudder construction company (BMS) provides all necessary information and role-based mobile apps on a cloud-based contractor portal, to interact with its external partners and the customer. The customer, the ship´s operator and the industrial service provider for the work in the dockyard (Cronus AG) want to ensure that everyone involved in the project works safely. The Safety Instructor App is available to the safety and work instructions for the staff. The Object Tracker App can be used to track all critical devices and components with the sensor data, e.g. the new components of the rudder. All important project information are available via the Project Team Site App. Using the mobile 3D-Viewer-App, he can navigate into his rudder system and the rudder components.

2) The rudder manufacturer (BMS) receives the order to manufacture and supply the new rudder system (Becker Rudder). The Object Tracker is used to supply core information about the state of the rudder components and their collaboration with other components . This specific tracker can monitor heterogeneous objects and display their status.

3) The rudder manufacturer (BMS) can receive information via sensors on his rudder component and gets information to evaluate via business analytics for predictive maintenance. He contacts the customer as part of his predictive maintenance order and delivers a modern, new replacement. The replacement can be carried out as a part of the planned TÜV-Revision in which the new, modern rudder system will be installed and implicated. The rudder manufacturer’s mechanic uses the Object Tracker App on site to track structural components and the progress on the building site.






COSMO Digitale Baustelle

COSMO Digitale Baustelle

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Linkedin

Connect & Collaborate with your Supply Chain – Becker Rudder System



Der Kunde: Becker Marine Systems – Products & Service



Integrating Digital into the Industrial Value Chain
HMI 2018 Showcase – Beispiel Asset– BECKER RUDDER SYSTEM 


>> Digitale Aspekte in die industrielle Wertschöpfungskette integrieren <<​

Showcase Scenario – mit den Beteiligten im Prozess: ​

0) Der Kunde, Betreiber eines Schiffes, möchte seine bestehende Ruderanlage im Rahmen eines Umbauprojektes in einer TÜV-Revision des Schiffesinklusive Generalreparatur, instand halten und modernisieren. Die Analyse der Lebenszyklusdaten von Sensoren im Rahmen des Predictive Maintenance-Vertrages mit seinem Ruderlieferanten hat gezeigt, dass eine bestehende Ruderanlage durch eine neue ersetzt werden muss. 

1) Zu diesem Zweck wird die Ruderbaufirma (BMS) in einem Conversion Projekt beauftragt, das neue moderne Becker Rudder zu liefern. Für die Arbeiten an diesem Projekt stellt die Ruderbauunternehmung (BMS) alle notwendigen Informationen und rollenbasierten mobilen Apps auf einem Cloud-basierten Kontraktorenportal zur Verfügung, um mit den externen Partnern und dem Kunden zu interagieren. Der Kunde, der Betreiber des Schiffs, und der Industriedienstleister für die Arbeiten in der Werft (Cronus AG), wollen sicherstellen, dass alle am Projekt Beteiligten sicher arbeiten. Für die Sicherheits- und Arbeitsanweisungen für das Personal steht die Safety Instructor App zur Verfügung. Mit der Object Tracker App können alle kritischen Ausrüstungen und Komponenten, z. B. die neuen Ruderkomponenten mit den Sensordaten, verfolgt werden. Alle wichtigen Projektinformationen sind über die Project Team Site App abrufbar. Mit der mobilen 3D-Viewer-App kann er in sein Rudersystem und die Ruderkomponenten navigieren. 

2) Der Ruderhersteller (BMS) erhält den Auftrag zur Herstellung und Lieferung der neuen Ruderanlage (Becker Rudder). Der Object Tracker dient dazu, Kerndaten zum Zustand der Ruderkomponenten und deren Zusammenspiel mit anderen Komponenten zu liefern. Dieser spezielle Tracker kann heterogene Objekte überwachen und deren Status anzeigen.  

3) Der Ruderhersteller (BMS) kann Informationen über Sensoren an seinen Ruderkomponenten erhalten und über Business Analytics für die vorausschauende Wartung auswerten. Er kontaktiert den Kunden im Rahmen seines vorausschauenden Instandhaltungsauftrags und bietet ein neues, modernes Ruder als Ersatz an. Der Austausch erfolgt im Rahmen der geplanten TÜV-Revision des Schiffes, in der das neue moderne Rudersystem installiert und eingebunden wird. Der Mechaniker des Ruderherstellers nutzt die Object Tracker App vor Ort, um die Bauteile zu tracken und den Progress auf der Baustelle zu verfolgen.






COSMO Digitale Baustelle